Celebrate our 140th anniversary with us! Peruse our history timeline, then check out our 140th anniversary specials.
The Cliff House welcomes its first guests.
Elsie Jane and Theodore Weare, innkeepers
1880 - 1910
The Cliff House hosts finest families of the age: Biddles, Havermeyers, Cabots & Lodges.
1910 - 1920
New guest conveniences include: indoor plumbing, electric lighting, two new annexes, garages and gas pumps.
The Cliff House thrives.
New York’s influential Downtown Gallery presented “Ogunquit Exhibition: Summer Work by 12 Ogunquit Residents”. The exhibit included such renown artists as Walter Kuhn and Marsden Hartley.
1942 - 1945
World War II – The Cliff House is occupied by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and used as a radar station for German submarines.
The Weares are barred from their own land.
The Cliff House has suffered severe damage and neglect.
Charles Weare places an ad in the Wall Street Journal to sell the property, but there are no buyers.
Charles’s son, Maurice Weare, and his wife Charlotte take the helm and save The Cliff House from extinction
Restorations include the first swimming pool and new motels.
The fourth generation of Weare family innkeepers succeeds in The Cliff House directorship.
Elsie Jane’s great granddaughter, Kathryn Weare, launches a plan for upgrading and expansion.
1990 - 2000
The Cliff House's popularity as a leisure travel, wedding and business-meeting destination grows.
New Pavilion opens – complete with indoor and outdoor pools, an expanded fitness center and the area's first full-service, ocean-side spa.
140 years after welcoming its first guests, The Cliff House Resort and Spa continues to offer visitors exceptional service, fresh, local food, and spectacular ocean views
140th Season Specials